Joseph Damamme

Researcher

Joseph Damamme holds an LL.M. (joint degree) from the Erasmus Mundus Program ‘European Law Practice’ (Université de Rouen, France, Leibniz Universität Hannover, Germany, Symbiosis Law School, Pune, India, 2008-2010, obtained with ‘bien’, Cum Laude) and an Advanced Masters in European Law (Master complémentaire en droit européen, Institute for European Studies of the Université Libre de Bruxelles, 2011, ‘Summa Cum Laude’). During his studies, he took part in Moot Courts (Concours Rousseau, 2007-2008 and European Law Moot Court, 2010-2011) and in a summer course on fundamental rights at Mykolo Romerio University (Vilnius, 2010).

He is currently a PhD researcher at the Centre of European Law where he was a research and teaching assistant (November 2012 to September 2014). His PhD research benefits from the support of the French Community of Belgium (scholarship mini-ARC, 2014-2018).

Moreover, Joseph is a member of the Equality Law Clinic where he works on a Code of Good Practice on disability at the ULB.

 

Research activities

From 2012 to 2015, he worked with Professor Emmanuelle Bribosia and Professor Isabelle Rorive in the research and analysis of the case law on equality and non-discrimination following an integrated approach (EU, ECHR, UN Committees and Economic and Social Committee of the Council of Europe) for the columnist of the European Journal of Human Rights (editor: Pr. O. de Schutter).

His PhD focuses on conflicts between companies’ interests (as employer and good or service provider) and rights of persons with disabilities following an integrated (UN, EU and ECHR Law) and comparative approach (US, France and UK Law). This research, under the co-supervision of Pr. Bribosia (IEE-ULB) and Pr. Rorive (Perelman Centre-ULB) is supported by the French Community of Belgium (‘mini-ARC’ scholarship).

 

Teaching activities

 

  1. Institute for European Studies of the ULB
  • 2013-2015: ‘European Negotiation’ (POLI 0-049) under the supervision of Professor Crespy, course opened to all IEE students (Master’s level)

See for 2013-2014 (on gender equality): http://www.iee-ulb.eu/fr/actualites/2014/01/des-etudiants-de-l-iee-ulb-en-simulation-de-negociations-europeennes-au-conseil-de-l-union-europeenne

See for 2014-2015 (on regular immigration): http://www.iee-ulb.eu/en/news/2015/03/iee-ulb-students-negotiation-exercise-on-legal-immigration-in-the-eu

  • 2013-2014: Methodology (TRAN – O 618) for thesis, seminar for advanced Master’s in European Law.
  • 2012-2014: ‘Stage’ DROI-0-621): supervising students for their internship report which must include scientific research aspects based on their professional experience.

 

  1. COCOF (Commission communautaire française)
  • 2014: Training in ‘European organisations’ (EU Law institutional and substantial Law) to COCOF and ‘Bruxelles formations’ agents (33 hours).

 

European Law Practice

Trainee-Lawyer in an American law firm (2011), Joseph has practiced economic areas of EU law (Competition and State Aid Law), particularly in their interaction with European fundamental rights. Moreover, Joseph passed, in 2013, the exam giving him the right to enter the Lawyer’s School in France (Centre de formation professionnelle des avocats), with honors (‘assez bien’).

Joseph was a member of the team advising Constantin Cojocariu, lawyer for the applicant in case Razvan Mihai Gherghina against Roumania (n° 42219/07) before the Grand Chamber of the European Court of Human Rights. In this context, he was in charge of identifying good practice in Europe aiming at ensuring physical accessibility to university buildings and legal remedies in case of inaccessibility. He drafted a note which was submitted to the Grand Chamber: ‘Accessibility to Higher education institutions across Europe, A prerequisite for the right to education on an equal basis’ (available Accessibility to Higher education institutions across Europe).

Joseph Damamme
Institut d’études européennes
Avenue F.D Roosevelt 39, 1050 Bruxelles
Bureau 207 (1er étage)

Email: jdamamme@ulb.ac.be

Joseph Damamme

Chercheur

Joseph Damamme est titulaire d’un LL.M. Erasmus Mundus « Pratique européenne du droit »  (Université de Rouen, France, Leibniz Universität Hannover, Allemagne, Symbiosis Law School, Pune, Inde, 2008-2010, « mention bien ») et d’un master complémentaire en droit européen (Institut d’études européennes, Université libre de Bruxelles, 2010-2011, « La plus grande distinction », Summa Cum Laude). Pendant ses études, il a pris part à deux concours de plaidoirie (Concours Rousseau, 2007-2008 et European Law Moot Court, 2010-2011) et à un cours d’été sur les droits fondamentaux à l’Université Mykolo Romerio (Vilnius, 2010).

Il est actuellement doctorant au Centre de droit européen où il a été assistant de recherche et d’enseignement de novembre 2012 à septembre 2014 avant d’obtenir une bourse octroyée par la Communauté Française de Belgique (bourse « mini-ARC », 2014-2018).

Par ailleurs, Joseph est membre de l’Equality Law Clinic dans le cadre de laquelle il travaille sur la mise en place d’un Code de bonnes pratiques pour le handicap à l’ULB.

 

Activités de recherche

 

Il a travaillé avec Pr. Emmanuelle Bribosia (Centre de droit européen) et Pr. Isabelle Rorive (Centre Perelman) de 2012 à 2014 sur la recherche et l’analyse de la jurisprudence en droit de l’égalité et de la non-discrimination selon une approche intégrée (Cour de Justice de l’Union européenne, Comité européen des droits économiques et sociaux, Cour européenne des droits de l’homme, Comités de l’ONU) pour la Chronique de la revue Journal européen des droits de l’homme.

Sa thèse porte sur les conflits entre les intérêts de l’entreprise (en tant qu’employeur, fournisseur de biens ou prestataire de services) et les droits des personnes en situation de handicap selon une approche intégrée (droit de l’ONU, UE et CEDH) et comparative (Etats-Unis, France et Royaume-Uni). Cette recherche est effectuée sous la direction des Professeurs Bribosia et Rorive.

 

Activités d’enseignement

 

Au sein de l’Institut d’études européennes :

  • 2013-2015 : Négociations européennes – exercice de simulations (POLI 0-049) sous la direction de Professeur Crespy, cours ouvert à tous les étudiants de l’IEE (niveau master et master complémentaire).
  • 2014 : Méthodologie pour le Travail de Fin d’Etudes (TRAN – O 618), séminaire dispensé aux étudiants du master complémentaire en droit européen.
  • 2012-2014 : « Stage »  (DROI-0-621) : encadrement des étudiants pour leur rapport de stage intégrant un aspect recherche sur base de leur expérience professionnelle.

Au sein de la COCOF (Commission communautaire française, French Community of Belgium Commission) :

  • 2014 : Formation en « organisations européennes » (Droit institutionnel et matériel de l’Union européenne) à des agents de la COCOF et de « Bruxelles formation » (33 heures).

 

Pratique du droit européen

 

Trainee Lawyer dans un Cabinet d’avocat américain à Bruxelles (2011) et stagiaire au Cabinet de Monsieur le Juge Van der Woude au Tribunal de l’Union européenne (2012),  Joseph s’est concentré sur des matières économiques (droit européen de la concurrence, aides d’Etat), notamment dans leur interaction avec les droits fondamentaux européens. Il est par ailleurs titulaire de l’examen d’entrée à l’école des avocats en France (Centre de formation professionnelle des avocats) obtenu en novembre 2013 (mention assez bien).

Il a été membre de l’équipe de conseil de Constantin Cojocariu, avocat du requérant dans l’affaire Razvan Mihai Gherghina contre Roumanie (n° 42219/07) portée devant la Grande Chambre de la Cour européenne des droits de l’homme. Dans ce cadre, Joseph a été en charge d’identifier des exemples de bonnes pratiques en Europe visant à assurer l’accessibilité physique aux bâtiments de l’Université et les recours juridiques en cas d’inaccessibilité. Il a rédigé une note remise à la Grande Chambre : “Accessibility to Higher education institutions across Europe, A prerequisite for the right to education on an equal basis” (disponible ici : Accessibility to Higher education institutions across Europe).

Articles

Joseph Damamme
Institut d’études européennes
Avenue F.D Roosevelt 39, 1050 Bruxelles
Bureau 207 (1er étage)

E-mail : jdamamme@ulb.ac.be