Our story

After 50 years of activities, the Centre for European Law has cemented its place as a focal point for scholarly analysis and high level debate on European law.

 

The Centre started out as a legal department of the Institute for European Studies. The Institute was officially opened on 27 February 1964. It was the result of some precociously intuitive thinking by academic authorities from the Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB, or Brussels Free University). Just a few years after the Treaties of Rome entered into force, the authorities intended to set up an institute with the mission to “delve in depth into the area of moral and political sciences and economics, into the problems posed by the move towards an ever closer Union”. The aim was in particular to allow the ULB to respond to the imperatives of its geographic location in the capital of Europe, whose ambition was to occupy a major place on the European and international stage. The Institute was conceived as a centre of both teaching and research. It was made up of three departments: economic, legal and political.

 

Through its teaching activities, the Institute aimed to train specialists on European issues but it also intended to contribute to progress in European integration and to take part, as an academic institution, in European thinking and debates. Right from the early years of its existence, it shored up its place as a centre of excellence, mainly but not exclusively in the area of European law with major personalities such as Walter Ganshof Van der Meersch, its first President, Michel Waelbroeck and Jean Victor Louis. It also very quickly opened up to the outside world both in teaching, by hosting professors and foreign students, and in research, by developing interuniversity cooperation.

 

In 1964, the Institute set as its headquarters a specific house located at 39 Avenue F.D. Roosevelt, designed by Adrien Blomme in 1926-1928. Adrien Blomme (1878-1940) was one of the leading architects in Brussels. This house is an example of Adrien Blomme’s modernist period. This style can be found in several other well reputed designs, such as the Villa Gosset in Woluwe St Pierre, the Wielemans-Ceuppens breweries in Forest, which today house the Wiels, the Vandevelde Villa just a stone’s throw from the observatory in Uccle or the Office of the University Chancellor in Avenue Roosevelt, which is the house that he used to live in.

 

Over the years, the Institute has continued to evolve alongside the European Communities, then the European Union. It has adapted its research and teaching to the challenges of European integration. In 2014, the Institute celebrated its 50th anniversary (50 years brochure).

 

In 2015, the Centre for European Law took over from the legal department of the Institute. It has been headed up by Emmanuelle Bribosia since 2007.

Historique

Depuis plus de 50 ans, le Centre de droit européen s’est affirmé comme un lieu d’analyse scientifique et de débat de haut niveau sur le droit européen.

Le Centre a d’abord existé en tant que section juridique de l’Institut d’études européennes. L’Institut a été officiellement inauguré le 27 février 1964. Il a été le fruit d’une intuition précoce des autorités académiques de l’Université libre de Bruxelles. Quelques années seulement après l’entrée en vigueur des traités de Rome, elles ont entendu créer un institut ayant pour mission d’« approfondir dans le domaine des sciences morales, politiques et économiques, les problèmes que pose la réalisation d’une Europe toujours plus unie », dans le but notamment de permettre à l’ULB de répondre aux impératifs de sa situation géographique, dans la capitale de l’Europe qui nourrissait l’ambition de tenir une place importante dans la vie européenne et  internationale. L’Institut a été conçu comme un centre à la fois d’enseignement et de recherche. L’Institut était composé de trois sections : économique, juridique et politique.

L’Institut visait, par son enseignement,  à former des  spécialistes des questions européennes mais il entendait aussi contribuer aux progrès de l’intégration européenne et participer, en tant qu’institution académique, à la réflexion et au débat européen. Dès ses premières années d’existence, il s’est affirmé comme un centre d’excellence, principalement mais pas exclusivement, dans le domaine du droit européen, avec des personnalités incontournables telles que Walter Ganshof Van der Meersch, son premier président,  Michel Waelbroeck ou Jean Victor Louis. Il s’est aussi très rapidement ouvert vers l’extérieur, tant dans l’enseignement, en accueillant des professeurs et étudiants étrangers, que dans la recherche en développant les coopérations interuniversitaires.

En 1964, l’Institut a fixé son siège dans une maison particulière sise au 39 avenue F. D. Roosevelt, conçue par Adrien Blomme en 1926-1928. Adrien Blomme (1878-1940) fait partie des architectes majeurs à Bruxelles. Cette maison est un exemple caractéristique de la période moderniste d’Adrien Blomme. Ce style se retrouve dans autre plusieurs réalisations réputées comme la villa Gosset à Woluwe-Saint-Pierre, les Brasseries Wielemans-Ceuppens à Forest, qui abritent aujourd’hui le Wiels, la villa Vandevelde à deux pas de l’observatoire d’Uccle ou encore le rectorat de l’ULB, avenue Roosevelt, qui est son ancienne maison personnelle.

Au fil des années, l’Institut n’a cessé d’évoluer en parallèle avec les Communautés européennes, puis l’Union européenne. Il a su adapter sa recherche et son enseignement aux défis de la construction européenne. En 2014, l’Institut a fêté ses 50 ans (Brochure 50 ans).

En 2015, le Centre succède à la section juridique de l’Institut. Il est dirigé par Emmanuelle Bribosia depuis 2007.