Networks

European Criminal Law Academic Network

 

img

The European Criminal Law Academic Network (ECLAN) was set up by the Institut d’études européennes (IEE, or Insitute of European Studies in English) of the ULB in December 2004. It receives European Commission funding (AGIS Programme) and funding from the Luxembourg and Belgian justice ministries. The network is coordinated by Professor Anne Weyembergh and Mr Serge de Biolley. Its aims is to facilitate and to bolster academic research and education in the area of European criminal law. It also aims to put academics and researchers specialised in the area in contact in order to facilitate cooperation and synergies between universities and research centres.

 

ECLAN is gradually developing and has, since November 2006, 32 points of contact (28 EU Member States as well as Bosnia Herzegovina, Iceland, Norway and Switzerland) and more than 100 members coming from several EU Member States. The network has developed a website containing, in addition to a list of members of the network, relevant information about the European criminal law sector: legislative texts, publications, academic articles, case law, events etc. The network organises different activities (meetings of contact points, colloquia etc) and leads various projects in this area in partnership with other institutions.

 

Every year ECLAN organises a PhD seminar and a summer school in European criminal law.

 

 

Academic Network of Legal Studies on Immigration and Asylum in Europe

 

OdysseusNetwork-Logo

The Academic Network of Legal Studies on Immigration and Asylum in Europe (ODYSSEUS) was set up in 1998 with financial support from the European Commission’s programme at the initiative of Philippe De Bruycker, Professor and researcher at the Centre for European Law and at the Institute for European Studies of the ULB. It brings together experts from each of the Member States of the European Union. The network’s vocation is to offer expertise on the domestic law of Member States of the European Union and EU law in the areas of immigration and asylum. The aim is to provide university students, political decision-makers, practitioners and NGOs with high quality legal information in a European context. The results of the work have been addressed to the European institutions in order to contribute to the legislative work that they must complete on the basis of the new provisions of the Treaty of Amsterdam. The working languages are French and English.

 

Every year ODYSSEUS organises a summer school.

 

The Omnia project strengthens the ODYSSEUS network by allowing for the development of distance training and databases that are accessible online in order to centralise information covering, in particular, case law, legislation and ongoing or completed research. A bibliographic database will also be set up. In this context, a blog containing legal articles drafted by members of the network comments on current legal and political issues as the weeks go by.

Réseaux

Réseau académique en droit pénal européen

 

img

 

Le réseau académique en droit pénal européen « ECLAN » fut créé par l’Institut d’études européennes (IEE) de l’ULB en décembre 2004. Il bénéficie du financement de la Commission Européenne (Programme AGIS) et des Ministères de la Justice luxembourgeois et belge. Le réseau est coordonné par le Professeure Anne Weyembergh et M. Serge de Biolley.  Son objectif est de faciliter et de renforcer la recherche et l’enseignement académiques dans le domaine du droit pénal européen. Il vise également à mettre en contact les académiques et les chercheurs spécialisés dans le domaine afin de faciliter les collaborations et les synergies entre universités et centres de recherche. 

En développement progressif, ECLAN compte depuis novembre 2006, 32 points de contact (28 Etats membres ainsi que la Bosnie Herzégovine, l’Islande, la Norvège et la Suisse) et plus de 100 membres provenant de plusieurs Etats membres de l’UE. Le réseau a développé un site web contenant, outre un annuaire des membres du réseau, de l’information pertinente relative au secteur du droit pénal européen: textes législatifs, publications, articles académiques, jurisprudence, événements… Le réseau organise différentes activités (réunion des points de contact, colloques, …) et mène, en partenariat avec d’autres institutions, des projets divers portant sur le domaine concerné.

Chaque année, ECLAN organise un séminaire doctoral ainsi qu’une université d’été en droit pénal européen.

 

Réseau académique d’études juridiques sur l’immigration et l’asile en Europe

 

OdysseusNetwork-Logo

 

Le réseau académique d’études juridiques sur l’immigration et l’asile en Europe ODYSSEUS, a été créé en 1998 avec l’appui financier du programme de la Commission européenne à l’initiative de Philippe De Bruycker, Professeur et chercheur au Centre du droit européen et à l’Institut d’études européennes de l’Université libre de Bruxelles. Il regroupe des experts provenant de chacun des Etats membres de l’Union européenne. Le réseau a pour vocation d’offrir une expertise sur le droit interne des Etats membres de l’Union européenne et le droit de l’Union européenne dans les domaines de l’immigration et de l’asile. L’objectif est de fournir aux universitaires, aux décideurs politiques, aux praticiens et aux ONG une information juridique de qualité dans une perspective européenne. Les résultats des travaux sont adressés aux institutions européennes en vue de contribuer au travail législatif qu’elles doivent accomplir sur base des nouvelles dispositions du traité d’Amsterdam. Les langues de travail sont le français et l’anglais. 

Chaque année, ODYSSEUS organise une université d’été.

Le projet Omnia vient renforcer le réseau Odysseus en permettant de développer des formations à distance ainsi que des bases de données accessibles en ligne afin de centraliser les informations portant, notamment, sur la jurisprudence, la législation et sur les recherches en cours ou terminées. Une base de données bibliographiques sera également mise en place. Dans ce contexte, un blog alimenté par des articles juridiques rédigés par les membres du réseau commente l’actualité juridique et politique au fil des semaines.