Gaël Le Roux

Researcher

Gaël Le Roux has a Master’s in the law of the European Union from Aix-Marseille University (2011) and a Master’s in international relations form the Bruges College of Europe (Marie-Sklodowska-Curie cohor, 2012). From 2013 to 2015, Gaël Le Roux has been the head of mission in the delegation of the Mouvement des entreprises de France to the European Union. Since 2015 he has been doing his PhD under the joint supervision of the ULB, where he is a researcher, and Aix-Marseille University, where he has a PhD contract. His research work is supervised by Professor Marianne Dony (CDE-ULB) and Professor Rostane Mehdi (CERIC-AMU).

 

Research activities

He is dedicating his thesis to the study of the digital dimension of bilateral trade agreements negotiated by the European Union with third countries. His approach is focussing more particularly on the regulation of trade in IT services, access to telecoms services and networks, the regulatory framework for electronic commerce and the regulation of on line author’s rights.

His interest relates more generally to the law on external relations and the common trade policy of the European Union. He is also interested in European regulation developments in the digital economy, in particular concerning data protection, net neutrality and the responsibility of online intermediaries.

Gaël Le Roux
Bureau 207 - Centre de droit européen
Institut d’études européennes de l’ULB
Av. F.D. Roosevelt, 39
B-1050 - Brussels
Mob.: + 32 (0)484 43 48 01
Tel.: +32 (0)2 650 30 27.

Email: gael.le.roux@ulb.ac.be

Gaël Le Roux

Chercheur

Gaël Le Roux est diplômé d’un master en droit de l’Union européenne de l’Université d’Aix-Marseille (2011) et d’un master en relations internationales du Collège d’Europe de Bruges (promotion Marie Sklodowska-Curie, 2012). De 2013 à 2015 Gaël Le Roux est chargé de mission au sein de la délégation du Mouvement des entreprises de France auprès de l’Union européenne. Il effectue depuis 2015 son doctorat en cotutelle entre l’Université libre de Bruxelles, où il est collaborateur scientifique, et l’Université d’Aix-Marseille, où il est titulaire d’un contrat doctoral. Ses travaux de recherche sont supervisés par le Professeur Marianne Dony (CDE-ULB) et le Professeur Rostane Mehdi (CERIC-AMU).

 

Activités de recherche

 

Il consacre sa thèse à l’étude du volet numérique des accords commerciaux bilatéraux négociés par l’Union européenne avec des pays tiers. Son approche se concentre plus particulièrement sur la réglementation du commerce des services informatiques, l’accès aux services et aux réseaux de télécommunications, l’encadrement réglementaire du commerce électronique et la réglementation des droits d’auteur en ligne.

Son intérêt se porte plus généralement sur le droit des relations extérieures et la politique commerciale commune de l’Union. Il s’intéresse également aux développements de la réglementation européenne de l’économie numérique concernant notamment la protection des données, la neutralité du net ou encore la responsabilité des intermédiaires en ligne.

Gaël Le Roux
Bureau 207 - Centre de droit européen
Institut d’études européennes de l’ULB
Av. F.D. Roosevelt, 39
B-1050 - Brussels
Mob.: + 32 (0)484 43 48 01
Tel.: +32 (0)2 650 30 27.

E-mail : gael.le.roux@ulb.ac.be