Céline C. Cocq

Researcher

Céline C. Cocq obtained a Law degree (2005), a Master’s degree in International Humanitarian Law (2010), two University Diplomas in Criminology and Criminal Studies (2005 and 2011) and an L.L.M. in Public International Law (2012). She is currently a PhD candidate at the Centre for European Law of the Université Libre de Bruxelles. She is also a member of the ECLAN (European Criminal Law Academic Network) team.

 

Research activities

Her research focuses on substantive criminal law and criminal procedure dealing with serious crime, with a particular focus on terrorism. She specialises in regional cooperation mechanisms and on the rationalisation of these mechanisms of cooperation and of the counter-terrorism legal and policy architecture(s) at the national and regional levels.

From 2012 to 2015, she worked on the European Commission’s FP7 SURVEILLE project. In this project, she studied the use of surveillance technologies for the prevention, investigation and prosecution of serious crime in different legal systems.

Her PhD research is currently funded by the European Commission programme called “Gem-Stones”. Her PhD thesis is entitled: “Mutual trust in the regional and interregional cooperation to counter terrorism: An analysis of EU and ASEAN approaches” (co-supervisors: Pr. Anne Weyembergh [IEE/ULB] and Pr. Robert Roth [UniGe]). She carries out a comparative analysis between the EU and ASEAN (comparative regionalism) and an analysis of the interactions between the two regions (interregionalism) in the field of counterterrorism.

Her CV is available here.

Articles

Books

Countering Terrorism: Challenges and Opportunities in ASEAN-EU Cooperation

By Céline C. Cocq (2015)

with Sarah Teo in Louise Fawcett, Frederik Ponjaert and Mario Telo (eds.) Interregionalism and the European Union. A post-revisionist approach to Europe’s place in a changing world (Farnham: Ashgate, 2015).

Research Reports

Working Papers

Céline C. Cocq
Office: 206
Avenue Franklin Roosevelt, 39
1050 Brussels
Belgium

Email: celicocq@ulb.ac.be

Phone: +32 (0)2.650.66.65

Céline C. Cocq

Chercheur

Céline C. Cocq est licenciée en droit (2005), diplômée d’un Master en droit international finalité humanitaire (2010), diplômée de deux diplômes universitaires en études pénales et criminologie (2005 et 2011) et diplômée d’un Master complémentaire en droit international public (2012). Elle est actuellement doctorante au sein du Centre de droit européen de Faculté de droit de l’ULB et elle est aussi membre du réseau ECLAN (European Criminal Law Academic Network).

 

Activités de recherche

De manière générale, sa recherche porte sur le droit pénal substantiel et procédural lié à la lutte contre la criminalité grave, dont le terrorisme. Elle est spécialiste des mécanismes de coopération régionaux et sub-régionaux et de la rationalisation des systèmes juridiques nationaux et régionaux dans la lutte contre la criminalité grave transnationale, dont le terrorisme.

De 2012 à 2015, elle travailla sur le projet FP7 SURVEILLE financé par la Commission européenne qui portait sur l’étude de l’utilisation des technologies de surveillance aux fins de lutte contre la criminalité grave. Elle effectua plusieurs analyses comparées des différents systèmes juridiques  de l’UE.

Sa thèse doctorale fait partie intégrante du programme Gem-Stones financé par la Commission européenne. Sa thèse qui sera défendue en anglais est intitulée: “Mutual trust in the regional and interregional cooperation to counter terrorism: An analysis of EU and ASEAN approaches” (Co-Superviseurs: Pr. Anne Weyembergh [IEE/ULB] and Pr. Robert Roth [UniGe]). Cette étude comportera une analyse comparée entre l’UE and l’ANASE (régionalisme comparé) et une analyse des interactions entre les deux régions (inter-régionalisme) dans la lutte contre le terrorisme.

Articles

Livres

with Sarah Teo, “Countering Terrorism: Challenges and Opportunities in ASEAN-EU Cooperation” in Louise Fawcett, Frederik Ponjaert and Mario Telo (eds.) Interregionalism and the European Union. A post-revisionist approach to Europe’s place in a changing world (Farnham: Ashgate, 2015).

Par Céline C. Cocq (2015)

Rapports

Working Papers

Céline C. Cocq
Office: 206
Avenue Franklin Roosevelt, 39
1050 Brussels
Belgium

E-mail : celicocq@ulb.ac.be

Téléphone : +32 (0)2.650.66.65