Chargement Évènements

« Tous les Évènements

Independence of the Judiciary and the Access to the European judge. The Case of Turkey

26 November  à  16h 30 - 20h 30

On 26 November, the Centre is organising with other organisations, a conference on the independence of the Judiciary and the access to the European judge, with a particular focus on the case of Turkey. Related questions concerning the Rule of Law Backslinding in the EU will not be overlooked.

The independence of the judiciary from the other powers constitutes, to quote a well-known judgment by the Belgian Court of Cassation of 14 October 1996, “the foundation, not only of the constitutional provisions on the judiciary but of any democratic state. The litigants find in this principle the guarantee that judges will apply the law equally”.

The right to an independent tribunal is not a fundamental right like the others; it forms a sine qua noncondition of the other rights’ effectiveness. A systemic threat to the former therefore entails the risk of a structural collapse of the latter.

Turkey is currently facing such a threat. The objective of this afternoon session is to critically assess this phenomenon in the light of the applicable European standards. By contrasting the points of view of academics and practitioners, the session will aim at measuring the whys and wherefores of the situation in Turkey.

A more general reflection will also be made, on this basis, on the reaction of the European judge in the face of such systematic deficiencies.

The event will chaired by Emmanuelle Bribosia, the director of the CDE, and Françoise Tulkens, the former Vice-President of the European Court of Human Rights. Cecilia Rizcallah will intervene, with Sébastien Van Drooghenbroeck, on the sources and the scope of the right to an independent tribunal.

More info (including the program) and registration here.

 

Détails

Date :
26 November
Heure :
16h 30 - 20h 30
Site Web :
https://www.iee-ulb.eu/en/events/conferences/independence-judiciary-access-european-judge-turkey/

Lieu

Université Saint-Louis
Boulevard du Jardin Botanique, 43
Bruxelles, 1000 Belgique
+ Google Map

Chargement Évènements

« Tous les Évènements

L’indépendance de la justice et l’accès au juge européen : Le cas de la Turquie

26 novembre  à  16h 30 - 20h 30

Le 26 novembre prochain, le Centre participe à l’organisation d’une après-midi d’étude sur l’indépendance de la justice et l’accès au juge européen, avec un accent particulier sur le cas de la Turquie. Les questions posées par la mise à mal de l’Etat de droit dans certains pays européens ne seront pas omises.

L’indépendance des juges vis-à-vis des autres pouvoirs, est, pour reprendre les termes célèbres d’un arrêt de la Cour de cassation belge du 14 octobre 1996, « le fondement même, non seulement des dispositions constitutionnelles qui règlent l’existence du pouvoir judiciaire mais de tout état démocratique (…) Les justiciables y trouvent la garantie que les juges appliqueront la loi de manière égale ».

Le droit à un juge indépendant n’est pas un droit humain parmi les autres ; il est la condition sine qua non de l’effectivité de l’ensemble des droits et libertés. Une menace systémique sur lepremier implique un affaissement structurel des seconds.

La Turquie est actuellement aux prises avec une telle menace. L’objectif de la présente après-midi d’études est d’en faire une analyse critique à la lumière des principes et standards européens qui gouvernent la matière. Il s’agit, en croisant le regard des académiques et des praticiens, d’en prendre la mesure et d’en examiner les ressorts.

Une réflexion plus générale pourra être menée, sur cette base, sur la réaction du juge européen des droits de l’homme face à de telles menaces systémiques.

L’événement sera présidé par Emmanuelle Bribosia, directrice du Centre, et Françoise Tulkens, ancienne vice-présidente de la Cour européenne des droits de l’homme. Cecilia Rizcallah, doctorante au Centre, interviendra avec Sébastien Van Drooghenbroeck sur les sources et la portée du droit fondamental à un tribunal indépendant.

Plus d’informations (en ce compris le programme détaillé) et le lien pour s’inscrire sont disponibles ici.

 

Détails

Date :
26 novembre
Heure :
16h 30 - 20h 30
Site Web :
https://www.iee-ulb.eu/en/events/conferences/independence-judiciary-access-european-judge-turkey/

Lieu

Université Saint-Louis
Boulevard du Jardin Botanique, 43
Bruxelles, 1000 Belgique
+ Google Map